The Butt Drama Circle celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2009, having started out in the Butt Hall in 1959.

The BDC is basically an amateur drama club which has expanded its remit considerably. Apart from its own amateur drama productions, and participating in regional and national drama festivals, it has for over 25 years hosted drama festivals for both primary and second level schools.

For over 20 years it has sponsored Community Employment Schemes and was instrumental in founding the Balor Development Community Arts Group in 1996. The original Balor Theatre was developed within the Ritz Cinema in 1982, in cooperation with the Butt Hall Committee. The Butt Drama Circle Co Ltd is the leaseholder of the Balor Arts Centre – a brand new state of the art facility situated within the Butt Hall Centre. This €6.2 million development by the Butt Hall Committee opened its doors on the Main Street of Ballybofey in July 2008.

The programme in the Balor Arts Centre, comprising drama, music and comedy, has been very successfully developed under the new theatre manager, Mr Conor Malone. The programme provides a comprehensive output and aims at presenting 100 shows per annum. The various facilities are available for hire to any community group for suitable purposes.

The Balor Management Committee is comprised of Four from BDC, 2 seats for BHC, one each from STAG, BASICC, Womens’ Group and Youth Club.

The committee meets approximately monthly and reviews the operational and financial aspects of the Arts Centre.


Contact Us: For further information about the Butt Drama Circle check out our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Butt-Drama-Circle/117074934976238 and sign up as a fan.


Or contact any member of the committee. The present committee members are:

Butt Drama Circle Committee


Mary Laverty               Chairman


Anita Shovlin               Vice Chairman anitshovlin@eircom.net


Kathleen McGowan       Secretary mcgowan.kathleen@gmail.com 


Jack Quinn                  Treasurer jackquinn@ireland.com


Brian Duffy                  Outgoing Chariman mrtubbs@eircom.net


Teresa McGowan           teresa_mcgowan100@yahoo.co.uk


Jim Holohlohan             jaholohan@eircom.net


Brenda Lucas              


Sean Byrne


Gordon Lucas               gjlucas@eircom.net


Aoife Flanagan


Eddie Flanagan


Eddie Mulligan               eddiemulligan@o2imail.ie


Mary Sweeney